Soccsksargen Bloggers Google Precinct Mapping Party


There is always a first time for everything. Well, yesterday I’ve had a lot of firsts. It was my first time in Grab a Crab/Coffee Club 101 Robinsons mall (I’m a more or less regular customer in their 1st branch). It was my first time to join the Soccsksargen Bloggers get together. It was my first time to participate in Google Mapping and first time to meet those very friendly and jolly members of the group.

Sir Avel a.k.a Bariles was as friendly as can be when I arrived an hour late. He gave up his seat to accommodate me in the jam-packed oval room of Grab a Crab Robinsons Place. He handed me a free shirt which say Google Map Maker at the back. It was a cool shirt. After a brief introduction and a great welcome we went back to business. I had trouble logging in to the Wifi of Coffee Club 101 and so I just logged in to the neighbors (Bigby’s) network. The task was really easy, all you have to do is tag a voting precinct that you can locate in google maps. Almost all the popular precinct was already identified. I managed to tag 2 schools which I knew. After about an hour when some of the precincts can no longer be located or perhaps cannot be identified (perhaps you know when Aspang Elementary School is?) we settled down for a Siopao and Coffee courtesy of Coffee Club. (BTW, I’ve learned that Grab a Crab will be having their Dimsum soon.) After awhile we had a group picture. (of which I don’t have a copy but its all in Facebook) I did manage to get a video of the group. I hope we can have another activity like this soon.

http://www.youtube.com/v/fRbvQHehO90?fs=1&hl=en_US

4 Comments

  1. Twas great to meet you, hopefully you can join us in more activities we will soon be having. Welcome to the group laurence!

    • It was a pleasure meeting you also. . . and the rest of the group. . I wish I could join more activities and interact with the group more often. . Thanks for the warm welcome. .

  2. And hey, you might want to try signing up for plurk.com
    We are more or less connected by that interlude of plurks. See you there!

    • I already have a plurk account mam, I just can seem ot undersatand how to use it. . . Hahaha.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

